Konrad repository

At the Konrad mine in Salzgitter, Lower Saxony, work is underway on the construction of Germany’s first repository for low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste to be licensed under nuclear law. This former iron-ore mine is being converted for this purpose under the supervision of the Bundesgesellschaft für Endlagerung mbH (BGE).

 

From 2027, the final disposal of up to 303,000 cubic metres of low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste is set to begin. The emplaced containers will be immobilised with suitable concrete and securely sealed off during emplacement operations. Once operations are complete, all cavities of the mine will be backfilled and sealed in a manner that ensures long-term safety.

On this page:

From 1964 onward, miners extracted iron ore via the Konrad 1 and 2 shafts. This extraction was discontinued for economic reasons in 1976. The same year, investigations began with a view to determining whether the Konrad mine was suitable for use as a repository for low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste. Scientific analyses of the geology indicate that this is the case: for example, thick layers of clay prevent the ingress of water – and therefore also the escape of radioactive substances for a long period of time.

Konrad repository explained in 90 seconds (english subtitle)

By calling up the video, you agree that your data will be transmitted to YouTube.

Load video from Youtube
Der Förderturm Schacht Konrad 1 stilisiert als Icon

The Konrad information centre informs interested parties about projects and ongoing processes related to the Konrad repository. It offers exhibitions, lectures and multimedia applications as well as access to the planned repository. Visiting the information centre and mine tours are free of charge.

 

 

To top

Review and adjustment

In 2002, the Lower Saxony Ministry for the Environment gave its approval for the Konrad repository in the form of a “planning approval decision”. Following multiple legal proceedings, this licence was confirmed by the Federal Administrative Court in 2007. Since then, there have been constant advances in science and technology, and the BGE has therefore commissioned external contractors to review whether the safety-relevant requirements are still in line with the state of the art. The insights obtained will be incorporated into planning and the construction of the repository. In the course of the analyses, the experts have already identified a number of areas that are in need of adjustment, some of which are deemed to be relevant to the safety of the repository. However, no fundamental safety deficiencies were identified.

 

The conversion of the former iron-ore mine is an elaborate process. For example, the two shafts must be renovated and equipped with the necessary infrastructure underground. Among other things, this infrastructure includes transport galleries and the emplacement areas at a depth of around 850 metres. Above ground, construction work is underway on new buildings. These include a reloading hall, where the waste containers of low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste with low heat generation will subsequently be delivered and prepared for transport underground.

Looking into the future: The 3D graphic gives an outlook on what the Konrad repository should look like after its completion.

 

 

To top

Origin of radioactive waste

Expansion of the filling station for the future transhipment station.

 

Around two thirds of the radioactive waste destined for the Konrad repository originates from nuclear power plants and industrial nuclear facilities. In addition, the repository is also intended to accommodate materials from the dismantling of GDR nuclear power plants as well as waste from federal research establishments.

 

At present, the earmarked radioactive waste is still stored above-ground in interim storage facilities and at state collection points. From there, it will subsequently be transported to the Konrad repository with suitable packaging for final disposal.

  • The Konrad mine is Germany’s first repository for low- and intermediate-level radioactive waste to be licensed under nuclear law
  • The repository is due to be completed in 2027 and will provide space for up to 303,000 cubic metres of nuclear waste
  • The radioactive waste originates mainly from nuclear power plants and the nuclear industry
  • At present, the radioactive waste earmarked for Konrad is still stored above-ground in interim storage facilities and at state collection points

Endlager Konrad

Die Schachtanlage Konrad im niedersächsischen Salzgitter: Hier entsteht das erste nach Atomrecht genehmigte Endlager für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle in Deutschland. Das ehemalige Eisenerzbergwerk wird dafür unter Leitung der Bundesgesellschaft für Endlagerung mbH (BGE) umgebaut.

Ab 2027 soll die Einlagerung von bis zu 303.000 Kubikmetern schwach- und mittelradioaktiver Abfälle beginnen. Dabei werden die eingelagerten Behälter schon während des Betriebs mit geeignetem Beton fixiert und sicher abgeschlossen. Nach dem Ende des Betriebs werden alle Hohlräume des Bergwerks verfüllt und langzeitsicher verschlossen.

Auf dieser Seite:

Über die Schächte Konrad 1 und Konrad 2 fördern Bergleute ab 1964 Eisenerz. Bereits 1976 endet der Abbau aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen. Im selben Jahr beginnen Untersuchungen zur Eignung von Schacht Konrad als Endlager für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle. Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen der Geologie sprechen dafür: So verhindern etwa dicke Tonschichten das Eindringen von Wasser – und damit auch das Austreten von radioaktiven Stoffen für einen langen Zeitraum.

 

Endlager Konrad - erklärt in 90 Sekunden

Mit dem Aufruf des Videos erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten an Youtube übermittelt werden.

Video von Youtube laden
Der Förderturm Schacht Konrad 1 stilisiert als Icon

Betrifft: Konrad - Rückblick auf 2022, Ausblick auf 2023

26. Januar 2023
18:00 Uhr

Die Infostelle Konrad informiert über die Schachtanlage. Sie bietet Ausstellungen, Multimedia-Anwendungen sowie die Befahrung des geplanten Endlagers an. Besuch und Befahrung sind kostenlos.

Überprüfung

2002 genehmigt das niedersächsische Umweltministerium das Endlager Konrad mit einem so genannten Planfeststellungsbeschluss. Nach mehreren Klageverfahren wurde diese Genehmigung 2007 höchstrichterlich durch das Bundesverwaltungsgericht bestätigt. Seitdem haben sich Wissenschaft und Technik stetig weiterentwickelt. Daher hat die BGE externe Auftragnehmer beauftragt, zu überprüfen, ob die sicherheitsrelevanten Anforderungen noch dem Stand von Wissenschaft und Technik entsprechen. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse fließen in die Planungen und den Bau des Endlagers ein. Während der Untersuchungen haben die Expert*innen bereits eine Reihe von Anpassungsbedarfen ausgemacht: Diese gelten teilweise als relevant für die Sicherheit des Endlagers. Grundsätzliche Sicherheitsdefizite wurden aber nicht erkannt.

Der Umbau des ehemaligen Eisenerzbergwerks ist aufwändig. So müssen etwa unter Tage die beiden Schächte saniert und mit der notwendigen Infrastruktur ausgestattet werden. Dazu zählen unter anderem Transportstrecken sowie die Einlagerungsbereiche in rund 850 Metern Tiefe. Über Tage errichten Bauarbeiter*innen neue Gebäude. Dazu zählt auch eine Umladehalle. Dort werden später die Abfallgebinde mit schwach- und mittelradioaktiven Abfällen mit geringer Wärmeentwicklung angeliefert und für den Transport nach unter Tage vorbereitet.

Blick in die Zukunft: Die 3D-Grafik gibt einen Ausblick darauf, wie das Endlager Konrad nach seiner Fertigstellung aussehen soll.

Die Abfälle

Ausbau des Füllorts für die zukünftige Umladestation.

Rund zwei Drittel der für das Endlager Konrad bestimmten radioaktiven Abfälle stammen aus Kernkraftwerken und Betrieben der kerntechnischen Industrie. Darüber hinaus soll das Endlager Konrad Materialien aus dem Rückbau von DDR-Kernkraftwerken sowie Abfälle aus Bundesforschungsstätten aufnehmen.

Derzeit lagern die vorgesehenen radioaktiven Abfälle noch in oberirdischen Zwischenlagern und Landessammelstellen. Von dort werden Sie später endlagergerecht verpackt ins Endlager Konrad transportiert.

  • Schacht Konrad ist das erste nach Atomrecht genehmigte Endlager für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle in Deutschland
  • Im Jahr 2027 soll das Endlager fertig sein und Platz für bis zu 303.000 Kubikmeter Atommüll bieten
  • Die radioaktiven Abfälle stammen zum überwiegenden Teil aus Kernkraftwerken und der kerntechnischen Industrie
  • Derzeit lagern die für Konrad vorgesehenen Abfälle noch in oberirdischen Zwischenlagern und Landessammelstellen

Magazine & Videos

Wie sehen eigentlich die Baustellen unter Tage im Endlager Konrad aus? Wie gelangen die schwach- und mittelradioaktiven Abfälle nach der Fertigstellung 2027 sicher nach unter Tage? Und wie kam es zur Entscheidung, das ehemalige Erzbergwerk zu einem Endlager für Atommüll auszubauen? Auf dem Youtube-Kanal der BGE gibt es zahlreiche Videos, die diese und weitere Fragen beantworten, die Bürger*innen der BGE bereits gestellt haben.

Leicht verständliche Informationen zum Endlager Konrad bietet auch das Einblicke-Magazin der BGE - gedruckt und online. Verschiedene Autor*innen, die überwiegend nicht der BGE angehören, nähern sich darin den Herausforderungen, die etwa der Bau des Endlagers für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle mit sich bringt - wissenschaftlich, technisch, aber auch gesellschaftlich.

 

Grafik, die mit mehreren kleinen Fotos und einem roten Abspielknopf auf das YouTube-Angebot zum Endlager Konrad verlinkt.